If you watch the news at all, you are familiar with the concept of Yin and Yang. Some might say Right and Wrong. Left and Right. Sense and Nonsense.

Actually, present day media is not a truly precise depiction of Yin and Yang. According to http://www.shen-nong.com/eng/principles/whatyinyang.html Yin and Yang is a bit more complex. The original concept of yin and yang came from the observation of nature and the environment. “Yin” originally referred to the shady side of a slope while “yang” referred to the sunny side. Later, this thinking was used in understanding other occurrences, which occurred in pairs and had complementary and opposing characteristics in nature. Some examples include: sky and earth, day and night, water and fire, active and passive, male and female and so on. Working with these ideas, ancient people recognized nearly all things could have yin and yang properties.

Since I’ve given up the car, I’ve noticed some yin and yang qualities descend upon my life.

For starters, I have ‘Work-Out’ rash. On my thighs. This is yin. But ‘Work Out Rash’ also means that I’m getting lots of exercise.  And at least now my thighs are in dialogue with one another, right?  That’s yang!

With all the coming and going, I’ve also managed to lose my cell phone and my daughter’s glasses. Definitely yin. On the other hand, I’ve discovered that I never go anywhere without my car keys dangling from my hands. Until today. When I set them down for good. I finally realized I don’t need to carry car keys if I don’t use a car. Yang!

And my daughter, who for the past week has had to be cajoled and rallied into walking to and from school, today marched all the way home singing “100 Bottles of Beer on the Wall” enthusiastically (thanks, Honey!), then came in the front door and immediately set off on a run down the block with her dog, Hazelnut. Double Yang!

